Red Hot SRTC Victory in Baie des Chaleurs

  • Subaru Rally Team Canada takes top spot in Baie des Chaleurs, keeping Subaru on top in the championship race
  • Five Subaru vehicles finish in the top ten to help extend Subaru’s lead in the Manufacturer’s Championship

(MISSISSAUGA) — Subaru Canada, Inc. (SCI) is thrilled to announce that Subaru Rally Team Canada (SRTC) claimed victory during the Canada Day long weekend, with a convincing win at Rallye Baie des Chaleurs. Antoine L’Estage and co-driver Alan Ockwell were able to open up a lead on day one, which they were able to maintain despite some minor setbacks on the notoriously rough New Richmond terrain. Overcoming driveline issues early on, the team battled back on day two, putting on a charge to extend their lead, finishing over three minutes ahead of the second place team.

“It’s a very tough rally and it shows how good the Subaru STI was” noted L’Estage. “There’s no big strategy at an event like this, you go hard and hope everything will go well.”

The win also vaulted L’Estage into a tie for first place in the driver’s championship, providing maximum points in a very tight race for the top position. In addition, a total of five Subaru vehicles finished in the top ten, including hometown heroes André and René Leblanc who joined SRTC on the podium after placing third. These strong results helped open up Subaru’s lead in the Manufacturer’s championship, providing a comfortable cushion in the hunt for a record 13th title.

Up next the circuit rolls in to Montpellier, QC for the Rallye Défi September 7-9. This race marks the midpoint of the 2017 season and a win would help SRTC solidify their lead in the hotly contested championship race.

Victory for SRTC in Baie des Chaleurs

Pos Time Vehicle Class Driver/Co-driver
1 2:07:14.0 2015 Subaru STI 4wO L’Estage – Ockwell
2 2:10:28.7 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer 4wO Besner – Joyal
3 2:14:11.4 2005 Subaru WRX 4wO Leblanc – Leblanc
4 2:18:13.9 2004 Subaru STI 4wO Arsenault – Bélanger
5 2:18:55.5 2005 Mitsubishi Evo 8 4wPd Laverdière – Trudel
6 2:19:08.5 2008 Subaru STI 4wO Stanik – Burnley
7 2:22:02.9 2009 Mitsubishi Evo X 4wO Djordjevic – Hall
8 2:23:30.0 2004 Subaru STI 4wP Spencer – Ma
9 2:23:35.3 2015 Citroen DS3 R5 4wO Trivino – Hernandez
10 2:23:36.1 2008 Mitsubishi Evo X 4wO Panjabi – Swann

About Subaru Canada, Inc.

Subaru Canada, Inc.Subaru Canada, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Subaru Corporation of Japan. Headquartered in Mississauga, Ontario, the company markets and distributes Subaru vehicles, parts and accessories through a network of 92 authorized dealers across Canada. For more information, please or follow @SubaruCanada on Twitter.